UP Health System – Portage Names New Chief Executive Officer

April 5, 2018

(HANCOCK, MICH. – APRIL 5, 2018) – UP Health System Market President Brian Sinotte announced today that Randy Neiswonger, RN, ACNP-BC, MBA, has been appointed to serve as chief executive officer (CEO) for UP Health System – Portage, effective May 29, 2018. Neiswonger comes to Portage from Select Medical in Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, where he served since January 2014 as one of their hospital’s CEOs and later as a Corporate Regional Director.

“We are excited to welcome Randy to the Upper Peninsula,” Sinotte said. “He is a strong and dynamic leader with extensive experience in healthcare management and operational leadership. We are confident that he is the right person to lead Portage and it’s people into the future.”

Prior to Select Medical, Neiswonger served as COO/CNO of Orleans Community Health in Medina, New York, where he led strategic business and marketing plans while overseeing clinical performance and quality improvement. He also held numerous nursing leadership positions at hospitals in New York and Pennsylvania. 

Neiswonger received his bachelor’s degree in Nursing from University at Buffalo, The State University of New York in Amherst, NY. He later went on to receive both his Masters in Science - Nurse Practitioner, and his Masters in Business Administration from the same university.

“I am thrilled for the opportunity to lead Portage and be a part of this great community”, Neiswonger said. “My core values greatly align with those of UP Health System. As a Nurse Practitioner, patient care has always been my top priority. I look forward to working with the talented teams at Portage to continue our strong history of making communities healthier.”

Randy and his family plan to reside in the Copper Country and look forward to becoming active members of the community. In his personal time, he enjoys the outdoors, mountain biking, hunting, fishing, and spending time with his family. Neiswonger replaces interim CEO Roy Vinson, who provided exceptional transitional leadership since August 2017.