Media Releases

Portage Health receives medication safety award

(Acheivements and Accolades) Permanent link   All Posts


     Medication Safety Award 2009 
  Members of Portage Health's Medication Administration Process (MAP) Team have received an award by the Institute for Safe Medication Practices. From left to right, front row are: Emergency Department nurse Lisa Pietila, vice president for patient services Deb Young, OB inpatient unit manager Cheryl Frankovich, inpatient pharmacy supervisor Tracey Bershing, medical-surgery inpatient unit manager Paula Polso and perioperative services nurse Patricia Corrigan. Back row: inpatient unit nursing supervisor Vicki Peterson, inpatient unit nurse Judith Luukkonen, perioperative services nurse Joann LaCourt, Portage Health Medical Group unit manager Linda Quarless and pharmacy director Jason Evans. Also pictured is executive secretary for patient services Joyce Cornilsen. 

Note: This was originally posted on: 11/16/2009 

HANCOCK — Portage Health has been awarded the Medication Safety Alert Subscriber Award from the Institute for Safe Medication Practices.

The ISMP Subscriber Award is presented annually to an organization that has shown an ongoing commitment to safe medication practices based on recommendations and strategies presented in the ISMP Medication Safety Alert newsletter.

The Philadelphia-based ISMP is an independent nonprofit healthcare organization that works with healthcare practitioners and institutions and regulatory agencies to improve medication use practices.

The Institute recognized the efforts of Portage Health's medication administration process (MAP) team in identifying potential risks and implementing medication safety practices.

"We are honored to receive this award and are grateful to the hard work, extensive time commitment and dedication shown by those on our MAP team," said Deb Young, Portage Health vice president for patient services. "We will continue to seek ways to improve patient safety by supporting a culture that promotes safe patient care."

Young and Portage Health Medical-Surgery Inpatient Unit Manager and MAP team chair Paula Polso will accept the award on behalf of Portage Health at the ISMP awards ceremony in Nevada on Dec. 8.

Note: This was originally posted on: 11/16/2009 

Leave a comment
Name *
Email *


500 Campus Drive
Hancock, MI 49930
(906) 483-1000


921 W. Sharon Avenue
Houghton, MI 49931
(906) 483-1777

Express Care 


945 Ninth Street
Lake Linden, MI 49945
(906) 483-1030


751 S. Seventh Street
Ontonagon, MI 49953
(906) 884-4120


600 MacInnes Drive
Houghton, MI 49931
(906) 483-1860

CMS Login